wine on wednesdays

Yesterday was my sister’s birthday, however we celebrated it on Saturday cause I can’t drink three bottles of wine on a Tuesday and be a productive member of society the next day.  Lucky for us, our favorite place on earth, Frogtown Winery, was having their Harvest Dinner.

We arrived in Dahlonega, GA around 3:00 and checked into our room at the Park Place Hotel.  After a brief, but intense, monsoon which conveniently waited to fall just as we were getting our bags out of my car, we unpacked and enjoyed the complementary bottle of Oak Leaf Cabernet the hotel graciously offered.  This fine wine can be procured from your local Wal-Mart for around $4.00 a bottle.  Never ones to turn our noses up at free wine, we drank every drop.

After the cheap bottle, we were ready for the good stuff, so we made our way to Frogtown.

That's us in the mirror. I'm the one in the yellow cause having a loud voice just isn't enough, I suppose.

We found a table and were soon joined by Ron and Deborah.  You couldn’t ask for two nicer, funner people to share a good dinner with.  They were awesome and made the whole experience even more enjoyable.  Really, if I didn’t already have parents I would ask them to adopt me (I gave them my web address and told them to tune in today, if you couldn’t tell.  Hi, Deborah and Ron!  You rock!).

Anyway, we were served a four course dinner with wine to complement each course.  Here’s the menu:

House Smoked Salmon with Spicy Creme Fraiche and Crostini paired with Frogtown Rose 2008.  The Rose was dry and not too sweet and was excellent with the spicy creme fraiche.  

Baby Arugula Salad with Scallops and Grain Mustard served with Frogtown Vineaux Blanc 2008.  Those scallops were perfection and even though I’m not big on white wine, I enjoyed this pairing.

Medallions of Peppered Pork Tenderloin with Wild Mushrooms with Kritzer Family Reserve Merlot 2006.  You can never go wrong with pork and Merlot.  Or just Merlot, for that matter.  Especially this Merlot.

Lamb Chops over Currant Minted Couscous and Grilled Asparagus served with Frogtown Tannat 2006.  The Tannat is big and bold and was excellent with the lamb.

For dessert they had a buffet of half a dozen different pies, tortes and cakes.  I managed to sample three of them, but by then I feared for the button on my pants. 

There is no better way to experience how a wine can complement a dish than attending a dinner such as this.  I know that I don’t ever take the time to pick out just the right wine to go with my spaghetti and meatballs at home and I probably never will.  However, I do appreciate the art of wine and food pairings and really enjoy when I can let the experts make those decisions. 

I mean, would you trust any decisions made by these two?

The one on the left, maybe.  But, definitely not the other one.  

13 thoughts on “wine on wednesdays

  1. Well it’s about time you got today’s post up. Been up since 4:15 lookin. I thought you Georgia folks had early mornin chores with that witch ditch thing you wrote about. 7:30 AM post is like midday. Mrs. Deal, you drink the good stuff first, then the $4 stuff because by then grape soda would knock you out. 4 courses and 4 bottles? Good Lord! Did you eat or refuel? Fraiche and Crostini? Aren’t they Castillian violinists or that Italian wrestling tag team?

    • The only early morning chore I have is feeing my dogs and taking a shower. I don’t dig ditches, with a witch or otherwise!
      Normally, I would drink the cheap stuff last, but we wanted to get loose before the dinner and that was our only option. And, we didn’t have an entire bottle with each course, just a glass. I’m not that much of a lush, yet. Yet.
      I thought Fraiche and Crostini were Vegas magicians who use trained white rhinos in their act.

  2. It’s amazing how the flavor of a wine can pair so perfectly with food. I remember the first time I realized this concept I thought I was going to need to be transported home by a large piece of motorized equipment! It’s great at times, but other times I just drink what I want with whatever I want to eat. If it doesn’t “match” then so be it.

    I hope your sis had a happy birthday! I’m glad you all enjoyed yourselves!

  3. I’m with you…there’s no pairing of wines with home cooked dinners. I leave that up to the professionals. But I have no doubt that this little excursion was a great weekend, birthday, and learning experience. I totally think this getaway should be a tax right off. I mean it was research for your weekly blog posts, right?

    ps. I think I need to try this place. I call bloggers retreat!

      • yeah, I tried to justify a trip to Jamaica as research in tropical drinks for that ill fated restaurant I was gonna open…. still paying that one off (sigh)

        • That sounds like excellent justification for me, althought I wouldn’t need much of a reason to go to Jamaica.
          At least you had the guts to TRY to open your restaurant and not just daydream about it. It could still happen one day.

  4. Wow. I just drink cabernet with everything.
    “What kind of wine is that?”
    “It’s red, you can tell by the color.”
    “It tastes kind of funny.”
    “That’s because I put gin in it.”
    “Yuck!”
    “Slam it down. After a couple more you won’t notice.”

  5. We have mastered the art of going to Frogtown and having a great time! The wine was delicious and the food was awesome! And the company was even better!

  6. Words cannot express how much I wish I could have been there; however, I am so happy my girls did it. You really know how to have a good time. Happy Birthday, #1, I’ll catch up you soon.

Leave a Reply

