books make brains tastier

You know what I love more than zombies? Free stuff.

You know what I love more than free stuff? Awesome-cool people whom I may or may not have ever met in person.

So you can imagine the glee that rained down upon me when these two worlds collided. 

See, I am a regular visitor of the website We Zombie!  (Their exclamation point, not mine.  Although, “we zombie!” would be a fun thing to yell.)  Bill Nelson reports on all kinds of zombie goodness from movies to events to the best places to purchase your zompocalypse survival gear.  Go check it out.  It’s rad!

A couple weeks ago, Bill held a little contest.  It was a “caption this” type contest using a picture of a zombie on a toilet. (oh click on it, you know you want to see it!)  Well, we all know me and captioning stuff go way back (Exhibit A) so I dashed off a not-very-original-but-witty-nonetheless caption and submitted it for consideration. 

And I won! 

The prize was a copy of “Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Zombies” by Matt Mogk.  Matt is one of the founders of the Zombie Research Society so he obviously knows a thing or thirteen about the undead. 
As the title suggests, this book answers all your burning, festering questions about zombies:

Are there different kinds of zombies?
Do zombies eat animals?
Can zombies learn?
Where should I go after the zombie plague?

Even I, who thinks I know everything about everything (not just zombies) learned things from this book.  Plus, Matt liberally sprinkles through the book quotes from zombie-related movies and television shows.  What’s not to love?

 But, since Bill over at We Zombie! (scream it!) is an overachiever when it comes to being awesomely nice, he threw in two bonus books. 

That’s Not Your Mommy Anymore” also by Matt Mogk.  This book is the “Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret” for the zombie generation. It helps kids by letting them know that they are not alone.  Other kids’ moms chew on the check-out girl at the grocery store, too, and that’s okay.  The book also teaches them how to deal with the new, sometimes unsavory, changes that their recently infected parent is going through.  Matt has done some important work here, people.  Buy this book for every child you know.  The child you save could be your own.  

Dead City” by Joe McKinney.  I haven’t read this one yet (I just got these books on Monday, gimme a break) but I can’t wait to rip into it.  Here’s part of the synopsis from the back cover:

“Battered by five cataclysmic hurricanes in three weeks, the Texas Gulf Coast and half of the Lone Star State is reeling from the worst devastation in history.  Thousands are dead or dying – but the worst is only beginning.  Amid the wreckage, something unimaginable is happening: a deadly virus has broken out, returning the dead to life – with an insatiable hunger for human flesh . . . “

Sounds like a winner to me!

Thank you, Bill!  These books will definitely help sate my hunger for all things rotten and shuffling. 

Have you guys read any good zombie books lately? I’m always looking for new words to chew on.

30 thoughts on “books make brains tastier

  1. Awesomeness and a congrats on winning the contest.
    Books are my best friends and these all look cool.
    My daughter is also a zombiephile (heh. gonna submit that word to the OED this year) as am I. the ‘kids’ book on zombies would be a great present. If I allow her to sleep in the house during Christmas break perhaps she’ll allow me to read it as well.

    Gotta say: I DID dig the zombie-on-the-toilet pic.
    Shamble and Groan on!

    • You submit zombiephile and I’ll submit zompocalypse and we’ll see who gets accepted into the OED first. :)
      The zombie kids book is so funny. I’m sure your daughter will love it.

  2. As a resident of the Lone Star State….. I can assure you that YES…our State is already overrun by Zombies…..most of whom are actually wandering the halls of the State Capital in Austin…. You may have seen our most famous zombie in his most recent GOP Presidential Debate just last night……. :)

  3. On zombies, I got nuthin’.

    However….

    In accordance with Rule #4 of the Versatile Blogger Award, I hereby inform you that you have been bestowed said honor. Congratulations, and have a lovely day.

  4. Congrats on the win!
    P.S. Unrelated, though pertaining to all things scary … have you seen the movie April Fool’s Day? No zombies, but I recall really enjoying the movie. I want to see it again.

    • Which one? The 1980′s original or the remake that came out a few years ago? I vaguely remember seeing the original years ago, but I hadn’t seen the remake. I’ll have to check it out.
      Thanks!

  5. Congrats – you deserve the win!

    Upon reading your line “this book answers all your burning, festering questions about zombies”, I could practically smell the festering zombies burning. Ulp.

    • World War Z was excellent!! The detail and the way Brooks makes zombies seem completely plausible made this book so very terrifying. I haven’t read any of the Walking Dead, but I love the show.

Leave a Reply

