the requisite the-year-that-was-review post

If you have a WordPress blog, you’ve received a nice email from them detailing how your blog did in 2011 using data compiled by what they call their “stats helper monkeys” (is the ASPCA aware of this?).  The report is animated with fireworks and pretty colors and they basically try to make you feel like your efforts over the past year haven’t all been in vain.  They even give you the option to share this report with your readers.

Yeah.  Nice try.

See, WordPress sent me one of these emails last year with the same option of posting my year-end statistics on my blog.  So I did.

And guess what?  That post received the fewest comments of any post on my blog that year. I’m not making that mistake again.

What I learned from that experience is that focusing on the year-that-was is kinda counter-productive.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m proud of what I posted on my blog last year. Content wise, it was my best year.  I’m also very grateful for every person who took time out of their lives to read and comment (that’s you, by the way).

But I tend to measure my success one day at a time, not year by year.  I’m only as good as my last post and it had a freakin’ zombie killing robot in it so I gotta be on my game.

Dammit.
How can I possibly top a zombie killing robot?
I’m screwed.

34 thoughts on “the requisite the-year-that-was-review post

  1. You don’t need WordPress to tell you who you are. You have your blog followers. They are so much more than a graph or pie chart of your success. They actually give a damn.

  2. But…but…but..it had fireworks and geographical rankings. I posted mine right away. I can’t believe I fell for the shininess of it. Of course I didn’t have Zombie robots helping me out like you did.

    • I was very snazzy, so much more than the email they sent at the end of last year. I don’t blame you for being pulled in. I almost did post it, then thought it would be more fun to be contrary. ;)

  3. Amen sister. I posted my stats and nada. Zippereno. Is zippereno a word? I don’t care. Take that stats.

    I look forward to your next post for I know it will be kick ass.

    Yours Truly.

  4. I saw and did run through the wordpress end-of-year stats celebration. I really didn’t think any readers would be interested. Posting and blogging is, of itself, a rather ego-jolting practice. I didn’t think I needed to add syrup and cherries to that Ego-Sundae. (“who cares?” comes to mind) You made a wise choice, AMy. And yes, you bring the ass-kicking element to your blog/writing, every day.

    So THERE wordpress gods! Hmph!

    • Mmmmmm, Ego Sundae . . .
      I only posted those stats last year because they sent it in a format where I could add my comments to it (and we all know how I loves to add my comments to things!).
      You showed them, Spectra!

  5. Wait a minute. The requisite-the-year-that-was-in-review post turns out to be how you are NOT posting those year-in-review stats? I feel I was lured here under false pretenses,

  6. I haven’t opened that email yet, probably because I wouldn’t be surprised to find a D-minus.

    I’m sure you have lots of great things to come. Looking forward to lots of great Fix It or Deal stuff…and zombies even.

  7. In college a bunch of us went to see Yellow Submarine. It was in Lakeland, Florida in 1968. They showed it at midnight because the community did not want the public exposed to such “immoral” stuff. (huh?) . I am pretty sure I was there. Well , you know, 1968 and all…..

  8. Pingback: 2011 Year End Review Stats with WordPress | ♥ Project 365 ♥ Challenge ♥

Leave a Reply

